Traveling South East Asia

To all my loyal readers out there, I hope you had a relaxing and joyful holiday season, and my best wishes to you and your families for 2007! My year at INSEAD is now over, so I only have a few posts on my blog left describing the final stages of my studies.

The first one is about my weekend trips in Asia. After completing my job search and most of my credits in P4, I had some time in P5, i.e. November and December, to explore South East Asia. If you have the opportunity to spend some time on INSEAD’s Singapore campus, don’t miss out on all the traveling.

For some reason, B turned out to be the name of the game. Besides my trip to Bali, I also spend a few days on Boracay, a beautiful tropical island in the Philippines, and Bangkok, Thailand’s unique and vibrant capital. Oh, and we did hike through Bukit Timah Nature Reserve in the middle of Singapore.

In the middle of November, we took off to the Philippines. Boracay, apparently the most developed holiday destination in the country, is simply amazing. White Beach streches along its south western coast line as far as the eye can see, and the sea is clear and colorful. Don’t miss out on the fruitshakes from Jonas or happy hour cocktails at sunset!

White Beach White Beach again
Boracay sand castle Sunset over White Beach

Hiking through Bukit Timah Nature Reserve is an experience out of this world – a tropical rainforest in the middle of Singapore, the city of fancy cars and skyscrapers. And it’s good for your health, too!

Ready to rumble! Stairway to … well, the top of the hill

For my last weekend in Asia we booked the Lebua, a luxury hotel in Bangkok‘s State Tower. The top floor is home to The Dome, a fancy restaurant, as well the Sky Bar, a place for the bold and the beautiful, with breathtaking views of the Thai capital.

The State Tower The Dome at night
One night in Bangkok and the world’s your oyster … … the bars are temples but the pearls ain’t free

Bangkok is a city of extremes – tranquil Buddhist monastries next to the bustling temples of modern capitalism (aka. shopping malls), the world’s most expensive sports cars next to rattling tuk-tuks, and European designer clothes next to panhandling beggars. Wat Pho, the city’s oldest Buddhist temple, is home to the Reclining Buddha, a gigantic gold-plated statue – definitely worth a visit.

Great food is available in abundance, although the Thai cuisine is a bit too spicy for my European taste buds. For an excellent surprise menu in an extraordinary setting, try the Bed Supperclub; for original Thai cuisine, head over to Baan Khanita. Thanks to Mickey and Lindsay for those delicious recommendations!

Reclining Buddha Wat Pho
Shopping Temple No, no, it’s not spicy …

5 responses to “Traveling South East Asia

  1. Truly nice pics. Thanks for sharing your travelling experiences. Anyway, Valentines coming so be sure to check out beautiful hotel suites at my site..

  2. Pingback: Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog » Fridays from the Frontline

  3. Hi Auris,
    I have been reading your blog for a while. Thanks a lot for giving a lot of info on a wide variety of topics.

    I had some questions on INSEAD which I plan to apply this year. Would you mind giving me your mail ID so that I could mail you with my questions?

    -Britto

  4. Dear MBA–

    I am currently an Oxford University MBA and we have a project where we must propose an Entrepreneurial Project and write a business plan for it. My group is proposing the launch of a magazine aimed specifically at the top 20 MBA programs throughout the world. We are looking to analyze readership trends and desired content so that we can get a better idea of our targeted audience. As you are at one of the top 20 MBA programs worldwide, your input is greatly appreciated. The attached survey will help with our analysis, take less than 5 minutes and is completely anonymous. Furthermore, if you could pass this along to your classmates, the more input the greater the survey population, the better!

    Please follow this link:
    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.asp?u=778243332294

    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in touch: elite.mba.magazine@googlemail.com

    Thanks,
    The Elite MBA Magazine Team

  5. Dear “Elite MBA Magazine Team”-

    you obviously haven’t followed my blog too closely. Otherwise, you would know that I have graduated last December, so I am no longer part of your target audience. And no, I’m not interested in such a magazine anyway.

    Best,
    Michael