Trilogy Alumni Dinner

A couple of weeks back, I bumped into a former colleague of mine from Trilogy, the enterprise software company I used to work for in 2000/2001. The meeting was pure coincidence – he is currently working in the IT department of INSEAD as a freelancer.

He came up with the idea of a Trilogy Alumni reunion in Paris, and it worked out quite well. So last Wednesday evening, nine of us had dinner, and it was good to see so many familiar faces after all these years.

Trilogy Alumni Dinner in Paris
Laurent M., Matthieu, Pascal, Emmanuel, Raphael, Kamal, Conan, Laurent G. and myself (f.l.t.r.) at the Trilogy Alumni Dinner in Paris

Except myself, all of them are still based in Paris, although one is about to start his PhD in Finance at Princeton. Current employers of the people at the table ranged from Koalog and Lombardi to Salesforce.com and – of course – Google. The big G seems to be in major hiring mode at the moment, as an ever growing number of my friends (especially ex-Trilogians) have joined their ranks lately.

Laurent M. and Matthieu Pascal, Emmanuel and Raphael
Kamal and Conan Conan, Laurent G. and Auris

BTW, we went to Les Deux Canards in the 10th arrondissement, and although the waiter was highly entertaining, I was disappointed with their food. The foie gras we started off with was too oily for my taste, and the following canard aux miel d’orange, supposingly their signature food, was a bit bland. I expect more at this price level.

Update: If you are willing to spend (quite) a bit more, have a look at this review of Paris restaurants by Chris Keene who taught my “Venture Opportunities and Business Models” class here at INSEAD.

One response to “Trilogy Alumni Dinner

  1. Thanks for the comments and the pictures !

    I’m sorry so many of you were disappointed with the food… I’ll try to do better next time!

    You can find my pictures on http://extranet.64event.com/sites/trilogyeurope/june06/Pictures

    See y’all soon!

    Raphael.